Sunday, February 24, 2008

Radioactive Material

Some very special news for all you (Real) Electro fans out there. Radioactive Man has a brand new album! "Growl" is the third offering from Mr Keith Tenniswood following on from his sublime debut "Radioactive Man" and its hard-edged and fast-paced follow up "Booby Trap".

It has been nearly 5 years since the release of "Booby Trap" but Keith has been keeping himself busy with collaborations with of course 'Sir Andrew of the Weatherall' in Two Lone Swordsmen, as well as working with David Holmes, The Aloof plus Red Snapper.

Mr Tenniswood says: “My last album was in 2003, so this album is a collection of everything I’ve been working on the last four/five years. I’ve been so busy with Two Lone Swordsmen stuff and DJing, that I haven’t had the time to put it out, so this is a real culmination of a long period of time for me. I wanted it to be pretty dancefloor, but still the kind of album you can pop on at home and enjoy on headphones. I don’t want to think about it too much – everyone gets so wrapped up in the process, the technology, the equipment, and everything else...but what about the music? People talk more about the programs than they do the music itself. That’s all I hope it will be – no hype, just good music that is as poppy as it is deep. I’ve tried to make the emphasis on actual songs, rather than just banging tracks, I could make those any day of the week. I really hope it sounds a bit aged from my last album, more matured. A build-on from where I last left off and maybe proof that I have learnt something along the way. I hope that it’s still got a lot of soul and growth in it.”

The album certainly is a mature work that utilises all of Keith's production knowledge accrued over the last 7 years of collaborations and solo releases. The album could be said to be aimed for the dancefloor but is also a great home listen. There are no abrasive 160 bpm freakouts that have characterised some of the other Control Tower output, instead the album opens with a Slow, low-slung breakbeat track "Basement Bounce". This then goes straight into classic Radioactive Man territory with "Pieces of Eight" with its minute Electro Pulses and a deep, deep bassline which really caries the track with its melodic structure. Other highlights include Dot Alison's sultry vocals on "Nothing At All", 4/4 Electro House on "Kristiina" and Andrew Weatherall's dark menacing vocals on "Double Dealings", definitely one of the album's standout tracks.

Overall this is classic Radioactive Man and Growl stands up with his best work, being instantly both listenable and danceable. One of the Electronic albums of the year and it's still only February!

The only downside is that it is not due for release until 12th May! Come on guys surely if an album is ready you can go the Radiohead route and release it via the interweb much faster than this.

Tracklisting: Released 12/05/08

01. Basement Business
02. Pieces of Eight
03. Nothing At All featuring DOT ALLISON
04. Kristiina
05. Double Dealings featuring ANDREW WEATHERALL
06. 5 Armed Skeleton
07. Up in the Air
08. Dalston To Detroit
09. Growl
10. State Of That
11. Lungful of Bass

While you are waiting for the rest of this release here are a couple of classics from the back catalog. "Uranium" is the seminal release with that baseline which still puts the Dubstep boys to shame. "Fed-Ex To Munchen" from the second album has the beautiful mournful vocals of Valerie Trebeljahr from the superb Lali Puna

Radioactive Man - Uranium // Rotters Golf Club 2001

Radioactive Man - Fed-Ex To Munchen // Rotters Golf Club 2003

Labels: , , , , , ,

Sweet. Uranium is such an awesome song!
It's here to buy digitally now
I've started a blog specializing in ambient techno, idm, ambient. A fair number of classics up already. Collection grows daily.





Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?