Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Spooky Celebrations

Ghostly International's sister label Spectral Sound is celebrating its 50th release with a compilation that comprises highlights of every one of those 50 releases. That's right kids you get a whopping 50 tracks for under a tenner plus a bonus Megamix of the catalogue by Derek Plaslaiko!

The compilation is sequenced chronologically, opening with Spectral’s first release “Irreparably Dented” by a then-unknown DJ/producer named Matthew Dear. In his Audion guise Matthew Dear went on to have the labels biggest hit with the monstrous "Mouth To Mouth". A remix by Heartthrob is included in the package. Other artists include James T. Cotton’s acid-house experimentation, Osborne’s smooth retro-disco, and Kate Simko’s elegant minimalism. Bodycode and Peter Grummich both deliver jacking Techno beats, while Daso's subtle retro Tech House gives a warm edge. Basically there is Techno of all shades on this release and everyone will find something to get into.

Matthew Dear - Its Over Now // SPC - 11

Osbourne - In Gear // SPC - 20

Bodycode - Bounce Back // SPC -37

The full release of 50 mp3s and the megamix is available at Beatport and Turntable Lab

Resident Advisor are giving you the chance to win the first 50 vinyl releases from the Spectral back catalogue. The question is tough. What band’s vinyl-sleeve design inspired the original Spectral stock jackets? Enter the Competition.

Labels: , , , , ,

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?